Environmental Process Advisory Committee Structure

Three advisory committees are helping guide technical, community and policy level discussions and recommendations during the development of the Environmental Process.

Policy Advisory Committee (PAC)

The Policy Advisory Committee (PAC) represents all Gateway Corridor Communities, key partnering agencies, and business and education interests along the corridor. The PAC reviews all Technical Advisory Committee recommendations and input from the Community Advisory Committee and the public. This information helps guide the PAC in the decision making process. PAC meetings are open to the public. All information regarding these meetings is posted on the website. Meetings are held every other month on the second Thursday of the month, at 2 p.m., at Woodbury City Hall, 8301 Valley Creek Road, Woodbury.


  • Mary Giuliani Stephens – City of Woodbury, Chair of PAC
  • Bryan Smith – City of Maplewood, Vice Chair of PAC
  • Jane Prince – City of St. Paul
  • Mike Amundson – Baytown Township
  • Tom Cook – Metro State University
  • Ed Shukle –City of Landfall
  • Paris Dunning – East Side Area Business Association
  • Dan Kyllo – West Lakeland Township
  • Peter Wagenius – City of Minneapolis
  • Amy Williams – City of Lakeland
  • Pat Bursaw – Minnesota Department of Transportation
  • Matt Kramer – St. Paul Area Chamber of Commerce
  • Richard McNamara – Oakdale Business and Professional Association
  • Harry Melander – Metropolitan Council
  • Richard Bend – City of Afton
  • Rafael Ortega – Ramsey County
  • Mike Pearson – City of Lake Elmo
  • Paul Reinke – City of Oakdale
  • Will Rossbach – City of Maplewood
  • Doug Stang – 3M
  • Jason Lott – Woodbury Chamber of Commerce
  • Lisa Weik – Washington County

Community Advisory Committee (CAC)

The diverse perspectives of residential and business interests along the corridor are represented on the Community Advisory Committee (CAC). Input received from the CAC is forwarded to the PAC. The Chair of the CAC serves as a member on the PAC. Meetings are typically held on a weekday after 5:30 p.m. at the Conway Recreation Center in St. Paul. There is not a regular schedule for these meetings.

CAC MemberPrimary Interest GroupSecondary Interest Group(s)
Donald GonserLandfall Resident
Linda Stanton, Vice-ChairWoodbury ResidentSocial worker with seniors
Mark JenkinsMaplewood ResidentMember of housing and economic development committee
Paul Sawyer, ChairFar East Side ResidentDistrict 1 Community Council; board of several organizations that have a stake in the Gateway process
Grant StevensonWoodbury ResidentRegular express bus rider
Kathy TucciLake ElmoWorks for Bremer Bank in Lake Elmo
Gordon WesterbergFar East Side ResidentDistrict 1 Community Council; seniors and disabled populations
Lisa CrainWoodbury Lakes ManagerWoodbury Chamber of Commerce; long-time resident
Tom GiannettiLandfall Business OwnerHarley dealer
Nick HeidenreichEarl St. BusinessOwns rental properties; active in community
Andrew De JongRural resident
David JohnsonOakdale BusinessOwner of Crossroads Properties; Woodbury Chamber of Commerce; Oakdale Business and Professional Association
Doug SwalboskiSun Ray BusinessESABA; owns Culvers
Tracy BaumannSt. Paul Libraries
Christopher MelendezFostering an East Side Equity ConversationWorks with environmental justice populations
Robert CrawfordWork Force DevelopmentMulti-modal
Tabitha DeRangoFostering an East Side Transit ConversationDayton's Bluff Community Council; works with businesses and community members
George GorbatenkoMICAHEngineering consultant
Marymartha HeasleyOakdale Resident

Technical Advisory Committee (TAC)

The TAC is composed of technical staff (engineers and planners) from corridor communities within the study area as well as affected agencies. Key responsibilities of the TAC include providing technical input, reviewing study findings, and providing recommendations to the Community and Policy Advisory Committees. The TAC meets on a monthly basis and includes representatives from:

  • Minnesota Department of Transportation
  • Metropolitan Council
  • Metro Transit
  • Washington County
  • Ramsey County
  • Hennepin County
  • St. Croix County
  • West Lakeland Township
  • City of Hudson
  • City of Lake Elmo
  • City of Lakeland
  • City of Maplewood
  • City of Oakdale
  • City of St. Paul
  • City of Woodbury